PDA

View Full Version : Samarium cobalt or Vintage Noiseless tele pickups?

Duffy
November 17th, 2010, 10:17 AM
I want to buy a set of noiseless pickups for a telecaster.

Fender has the Samarium Cobalt ones for 90 a set and the Vintage Noiseless for about 110, my price at a local place.

I have zero knowledge of the Samarium Cobalt pickups and have only played one strat with Vintage Noiseless that I can remember. The strat was an American Deluxe with Ash body and maple fretboard with V neck and sounded and played GREAT.

This, however, doesn't speak for the telecaster Vintage Noiseless pickups and how they sound. Does anyone know?

Also, as to the Samarium Cobalt tele pickups - does anyone have any experience with them and do they have characteristics than the Vintage Noiseless? Do they sound different?

I'm wondering if these are decent noiseless pickups for a tele and which would have the most improved characteristic design?

Any feedback is greatly appreciated.

FrankenFretter
November 17th, 2010, 02:29 PM
I'll be watching this thread with interest, since I'd like my Tele clone to be less noisy. On the other hand, as my friend Heywood said, maybe the noise is part of the Tele sound, and I should just learn to love it.

Eric
November 17th, 2010, 02:42 PM
I'll be watching this thread with interest, since I'd like my Tele clone to be less noisy. On the other hand, as my friend Heywood said, maybe the noise is part of the Tele sound, and I should just learn to love it.
I'm with you -- I fricking hate guitar buzz. If that's what single coils have to offer, count me out.

For now. You know these things change...

FrankenFretter
November 17th, 2010, 02:52 PM
I'm with you -- I fricking hate guitar buzz. If that's what single coils have to offer, count me out.

For now. You know these things change...