PDA

View Full Version : Picked up my 60th Anniversary Std. Strat. WOW

sunvalleylaw
October 25th, 2006, 09:00 AM
Hey all, got to pick up finally my 60th Std. Strat last night. All I can say is wow. Although I am just a newbie, I can say that it feels and plays (just strings ringing, no amp yet) better than the others I have been fiddling around with and trying in stores, etc. I also liked a Highway One strat I tried at guitar center, it was a little darker and smokier sounding for some reason, but I kept coming back to this model. In the stores, the 60th just sort of felt right. This particular one just feels right in my hands. These pics are not of my actual guitar, but it looks like the attachments to this post.

I have a cable coming at the rec of Superswede for plugging into garageband and my mac, and am closing in on my amp. Hope to have it by Christmas. The guy that sold me this guitar will sell me his Marshall AVT50 for 350, but I am still kind of leaning toward the Vox AD50VT. Anyway, just was so excited I needed to share with the group.

Cheers,

Steve

duhvoodooman
October 25th, 2006, 09:29 AM
Sweet looking axe there, Steve. If I was in the market for another Strat, it would definitely come down to the 60th Anniv. model you got and the Jimmie Vaughan model. Both look like fantastic values--a whole lot of guitar for the money. Some great values available in MIM Strats these days, for sure! And if the 60th "feels right" to you, that's the really important thing.

Plank_Spanker
October 25th, 2006, 09:31 AM
Congrats on the new guitar!!:D

Robert
October 25th, 2006, 09:51 AM
Sweet! I want one of those too!

SuperSwede
October 25th, 2006, 10:53 AM
The 60th anniv. strat is a great guitar! I played a lot on it when I were looking for a new guitar. Congrats!

jpfeifer
October 25th, 2006, 11:07 AM
Hey, congratulations. It looks like a great guitar.
Does it have a vintage shaped neck (V shaped profile)?

-- Jim

sunvalleylaw
October 25th, 2006, 11:10 AM