PDA

View Full Version : It was 30 years ago today... John Lennon

Tig
December 8th, 2010, 09:14 AM
One of those "I remember what I was doing when I heard..." kind of days.

I was a sophomore in high school. We didn't learn of his death until the next morning. Our homeroom teacher was a Beatles fan and was visibly shaken when he told us. Some kids never had a connection I guess. Not me... I grew up listening to Beatles music quite a bit since my jazz singing Dad actually loved them. It felt like something was ripped from my soul.

n9IemLC4Onw

Tone2TheBone
December 8th, 2010, 09:25 AM
I remember that day too. I was a senior in High School. They played John Lennon and Beatles songs all day and the teachers allowed us to listen to stereos in class. Unprecedented. Needless to say I was very sad that day as I grew up with the Beatles. R.I.P. Johnny.

tunghaichuan
December 8th, 2010, 09:28 AM
One of those "I remember what I was doing when I heard..." kind of days.

I was a sophomore in high school. We didn't learn of his death until the next morning. Our homeroom teacher was a Beatles fan and was visibly shaken when he told us. Some kids never had a connection I guess. Not me... I grew up listening to Beatles music quite a bit since my jazz singing Dad actually loved them. It felt like something was ripped from my soul.

I was a sophomore too. I wasn't a Beatles fan, and barely knew who Lennon was. It wasn't till much later that I realized what the world lost with his murder.

RIP

Jimi75
December 8th, 2010, 09:33 AM
6 years ago today Dimebag Darrel was shot to death on stage.

R_of_G
December 8th, 2010, 09:53 AM
I was ten years old in 1980 and already a big Beatles' fan thanks to two parents who loved the Beatles.

At that point in my life, all of my grandparents and older relatives were still alive so Lennon's murder was the first time death really affected me in any way.

sunvalleylaw
December 8th, 2010, 10:15 AM