PDA

View Full Version : I have not heard....can you help me?

Jx2
December 14th, 2010, 12:17 AM
Recently I was going through some cd's from way back. Came across alot of bands from the grunge days you'd expect seeing how I graduated high school in 96. The bigger names(Nirvana, Soundgarden, Pearl Jam, A.I.C, etc) never really left my daily rotation. However, I found myself listening to and really enjoying again bands like The Melvins, Meat Puppets, Mud Honey, Sonic Youth and Dinosar Jr. to name a few, as well as some punk albums like Operations Ivy, Rancid, Reel Big Fish.

So in the last few days Ive been browseing labels, the most recent shows these guys have played for the other bands on stage with them, and even wikipedia. Looking for some new groups that have that feel about them. Not so much the grunge or punk sound to say. But that energy, vibe, feel, rawness. The only band my search has turn up really in a group called New Bomb Turks, which for the most part is a very Rancid, early Green Day sounding band. So Im asking the fretmass, any suggestions or youtube videos for me to check out? Heck does your band fit this discribtion got a demo or cd for sale lmk.

R_of_G
December 14th, 2010, 07:56 AM
If you like New Bomb Turks, which any fan of good garage/punk should, I think you would enjoy the Devil Dogs, who were a major influence on their sound.

Here's a taste or two.

First, the Dogs covering a classic from the Dictators.

Interestingly, they play this one faster and louder than the Dictators who once boasted in song they could play "Faster and Louder" than anyone (I'm guessing at least Brian Krashpad will appreciate that joke)...

IETBo8clQYw

Here's one of their own tunes...

* song starts at about 42 seconds

2x0ZTShEqfE

There are many many bands out there playing in this garage/punk revival style and many of them are good, but none of them bring it quite like the Dogs did.

Jimi75
December 14th, 2010, 08:28 AM