PDA

View Full Version : Wah Pedal Newbie

Trip
January 4th, 2011, 04:59 PM
This may be a stupid question, but bare with me I'm new at using a wah pedal. I seem to have very little sweep response after the 15 fret when using my neck pickup. The bridge pickup is a little better but still not great after the 15 fret. I have a modded Crybaby gcb95. Any help would be appreciated.

Duffy
January 6th, 2011, 11:10 AM
Some wah pedals seem to be most effective in the bass frequencies. This might be physically adjustable with your pedal, I don't know.

My experience has been that when you get into the higher pitched sounds the wah gets very thin. It seems to wallow around in the full bass sounding frequencies very well, producing pronounced wah.

My new old style classic Vox with the chrome trim, no sure of what model, has more useable sweep of the pedal range - instead of just producing wah within a short half inch or inch of pedal travel, leaving the rest of the pedal travel as basically an exercise pedal, having no wah effect whatsoever. The new Vox reissue I got has a much longer range of effective pedal travel that actually produces wah sound, rather than being just an exercise pedal. Plenty of wah pedals have mostly no effective pedal travel that actually produces a modulation of the sound. Most of the travel up and down is dead space and you need to find the sweet spot, which can be very narrow indeed.

Some pedals are adjustable so they have more range of action, but none of mine do, other than what is designed into them - the Vox being far superior to my Cry Baby and some of the ones on multipedals. The tone on the Vox with the chrome trim is also far superior and it was well under 100 US. Some dude turned me on to the Vox one. It's a four hundred and something "A" I think, like a 425A or something. Maybe it's technically not much different, but practically it is WAY different. To each their own on wah pedals.