PDA

View Full Version : my Intro..

Bass2Guitar
November 1st, 2006, 09:19 AM
Well, due to popular request! ;)

I wanted to introduce myself..

I'm a 37 year old, married man, two kids a house and a mortgage!

I started playing guitar back in 1982 because I was a huge Van Halen fan but with in 6 months I sold my guitar to a friend, and bought a bass, as I turned into a huge Rush fan!

I played bass for some 10 years straight, ending when I finished college and got a real job. for 10 more years I dabbled with bass, but didn't play in any bands.. until about 2 years ago (some 23 years later), I decided to spend some hard earned income on a new bass. I ended up with a Fender MIA Jazz.. and have since sold that as now own a Custom Shop Jazz and I've got another Master built CS Jazz on it's way.

I also took back to learning the guitar again, and bought at first a Martin DM, then a Taylor GS, then a Martin D16.. then sold them all and got a D45V, which I absolutely love strumming.. My latest project is getting the Beatles "Nowregian Wood" down tight..

Any advice, comments, or critical words.. I'm all ears!

and, no .. alas I have no recordings..

r_a_smith3530
November 1st, 2006, 09:54 AM
Welcome to The Fret Bass2Guitar. I probably could have called myself the opposite (guitar2bass), as I started on the guitar and have come around to the bass. You can find my intro here (http://www.thefret.net/showthread.php?t=365).

Sounds like a sweet bass you've got coming. Please post pics of it (and your other axes of course) when it arrives. My collection is much more humble than yours. I've taken the approach of "greatest bang for the buck" in most of my instruments today. I also like to tinker, so, with the exception of my '85 Mahogany G&L L-2000, everything else I own has at least one change. On a couple of my instruments, even the body or neck has been altered to give it some unique quality that I was after.