PDA

View Full Version : recording help for a newbie

jpurvis
January 28th, 2011, 11:01 PM
So i'm a total newbie at digital recording and don't know where to start. I'm in a classic rock/country band with 2 guitars, a drummer, and myself on bass, and sometimes keys. We have a pa and I'm wondering if I can just run a line out to the pc and buy some software or is there more to it than that? I'm just looking to record with semi-decent quality thats not (through the air). it would be nice to edit too but I don't want to spend a small fortune at the same time. I know it's hard to mic drums but maybe some software can help that. not looking to buy a bunch of recording mics just something good enough to put on a cd. Thanks

deeaa
January 29th, 2011, 01:55 AM
Well jpurvis, I'll be happy to help if I can. Such recording has been my favorite hobby since the late 80's and I've recorded literally hundreds of songs and can't count how many studio gigs and producing jobs...I know a lot about all the little things that go into making recordings cheap and easy and I'm always happy to discuss the issue and help & gain new info also myself. So just ask away!

You don't say what's the budget? These days you don't need a lot to get great recordings even. But you do indicate you have a PA and a PC at your disposal, which must mean you have a mic or two already and a PC which is the most costly part.

If you have never recorded anything, I strongly suggest you start by making stereo recordings first. Just record the whole band from the position of a listener, and try to get things in a good balance, transfer the recording onto PC and explore what more can be done to it by EQ, compression, tweaks.

When you get a recording that is clear and passable that way, you should then start adding a few mics. First record the kick and snare on separate tracks, those are the most important ones, and then also vocals.

But to do any of this you do need some hardware.