PDA

View Full Version : Need help understanding minor keys

progrmr
March 3rd, 2011, 06:41 PM
I've been playing piano for about 6 months now and I'm starting to get into composing. To me being a good musician isn't about playing songs written by other people, rather being able to WRITE music!

So this week I did a composition in Cm but an interesting issue came up. In the minor keys, the 5th is a Major but per my teacher it's given a major quality by raising the 7th a half step....??

This is a cause of confusion for me. My understanding of Major chords is that they are constructed from the root-3rd-5th. Minor chords differ in that the 3rd is flatted. So if I'm in a minor key and the 5th is Major, why isn't the chord constructed with a 3rd of a normal major chord? Instead it's given a major quality by raising the 7th? WTH is that?? :)

Sounds like in a minor key for the major 5th, the root-3rd-5th is the same as the normal minor chord but adding a raised 7th. Seems to blow everything I thought I knew about chord construction out of the water.

Can anyone help me out here? Or is it something I just need to push the "I believe" button for??

marnold
March 3rd, 2011, 07:45 PM
Hmm. Well, the scale formula for minor/Aeolian is: 1, 2, b3, 4, 5, b6, b7, 8. The fifth doesn't change at all, so that note alone will not give you any indication of major or minor. Not flatting the seventh would give it a major feel. Having said that, the minor scale without the b7 is the so-called harmonic minor scale. I have no idea what you'd call a chord that would contain the 1, b3, 5, 7. The normal 7th chord would have a major third if it was major and a flat seventh if it was minor.

Major chords are only 1, 3, 5. Minor chords are only 1, b3, 5. The seventh doesn't enter into it.

progrmr
March 3rd, 2011, 10:56 PM