PDA

View Full Version : Greets

Ro3b
November 13th, 2006, 08:54 AM
Hi all,

I'm a 42-year old cat rancher living just outside Washington, DC. I'm originally from Atlanta, Ga. I started playing when I was 11 with a headful of Kiss and Zepplin; my parents compelled me to learn classical guitar, which was the best favor they could have done me. In college I started out as a guitar major, but between playing in punk bands and getting into traditional Irish music, my interest in musical academia didn't hold.

I got more and more into Irish music, started playing mandolin and bouzouki and wooden flute and button accordion, re-tooled my understanding of guitar into DADGAD tuning; played in a few groups in Atlanta, moved to DC in 1997 (needed a change) formed a band with some friends in Charlottesville, VA, recorded a cd, toured a little, played a bunch of Irish music festivals and contradances and ceilis, broke up. During which time I was also taking jazz guitar lessons and mulling over getting back into rock, which honestly was more fun for less effort than Irish music. Also started composing ambient electronic music. I should have a cd of that stuff out soon.

The last year or so I've basically been working on getting back the chops I used to have. I'm re-discovering standard tuning, which is a real kick when you've been playing in DADGAD for a while (I mean, really, do you guys know how totally cool standard tuning is? It's, like, all in fourths except for that major third between the second and third strings; you can play anything in it. Who knew?).

Influences/musicians I like: John Doyle, Dick Gaughan, Bob Mould, Aphex Twin, Photek, Karl Sanders, John Cage, John Frusciante, John Renbourne, Yngwie, Angus, Ace, Slash, Wes, Monk, Miles, Coltrane, Joao, and, um, Sid.

Lev
November 13th, 2006, 09:07 AM