PDA

View Full Version : Epi SG Korina - resonant unplugged..!

poodlesrule
April 6th, 2011, 10:14 AM
At my local GAS station yesterday, decided to casually check some Epi SGs on the wall (before I looked at the Hag Swede... another story!).
I picked the attractive-looking Korina, and found it to be quite resonant unplugged. I then tried other epi SG styles, unplugged. None were showing the kind of body vibe and sound level as that Korina model did.

Is there a valid explanation for this?

marnold
April 6th, 2011, 01:54 PM
I'm not a wood expert, so I won't try to offer an explanation. I will say that korina Vs are awesome.

FrankenFretter
April 6th, 2011, 02:07 PM
From what I've read, Korina (which is actually not the real name of the wood, Gibson made it up. I think the actual name of the wood is Limba) is akin to a more expensive mahogany. Supposedly they are similar tonewoods.

progrmr
April 6th, 2011, 02:12 PM
The Epi Korina Explorer I have is very resonant unplugged - must be the wood.

poodlesrule
April 6th, 2011, 02:36 PM
The Epi Korina Explorer I have is very resonant unplugged - must be the wood.

How does it sound amplified, compared to your LP stable, then?

progrmr
April 7th, 2011, 06:48 AM
Man that's tough to quantify. The Agile has GFS Pickups, while the Epi has the stock pickups. The Electra is from 1976, so the pickups in that are very different from today's pickups.

I A/B'd the Agile and the Korina Explorer this morning. There is no doubt that the Korina has a smoother tone overall. The agile is very "bitey" while the korina is sharp but smoother overall.

Not sure if that can be attributed more to the pickup difference between the two, the wood, or the size of the body though.

wingsdad
April 7th, 2011, 07:16 AM
... I picked the attractive-looking Korina, and found it to be quite resonant unplugged....