PDA

View Full Version : Osama bin Laden dead

marnold
May 2nd, 2011, 06:35 AM
The man behind the single greatest attack on my country in my lifetime has not gone down to the grave in peace. It won't bring back anybody killed on 9/11, but it does bring the mastermind to justice. A word to terrorists: we have special forces and they will find you.

http://www.cnn.com/2011/WORLD/asiapcf/05/02/bin.laden.dead/index.html?hpt=T1&iref=BN1

Eric
May 2nd, 2011, 06:43 AM
Yeah, pretty hard to avoid that news this morning. It's kind of strange to celebrate the death of someone, yet if there is such a thing as a justifiable killing, this seems to be it. I wonder how things will play out from this point on.

Tig
May 2nd, 2011, 07:03 AM
Finally, a break in the royal wedding coverage! :yum

As a former firefighter, I remember watching with horror the loss of 343 fellow firefighters at the WTC. No celebration today, but at least a sigh of justice filled relief.

Not a time for politics, just a time for unity and reflection. In the security environment, this changes nothing. Unfortunately, you cannot kill the Hydra by cutting off only one head.

R_of_G
May 2nd, 2011, 07:05 AM
So do we get our civil rights back now?

FrankenFretter
May 2nd, 2011, 07:05 AM
If it hadn't been for guitar forums, I wouldn't have known about this last night.
If this is true, and I hope it is, then good riddance.

marnold
May 2nd, 2011, 07:30 AM
If it hadn't been for guitar forums, I wouldn't have known about this last night.
If this is true, and I hope it is, then good riddance.

Well, the President held a special news conference to announce it, so it's a serious hoax if it isn't true.

On a music-related note: the only reason I heard the news last night is because I was watching videos on The CoolTV. On of the (many) John Mayer songs I can't stand came on so I flipped over to the associated NBC station to see Brian Williams bringing news of the impending news conference.

R_of_G
May 2nd, 2011, 07:40 AM