PDA

View Full Version : Where to move?

Eric
May 15th, 2011, 02:39 PM
Hi all,

For a while now (though more recently), my wife and I have felt that we probably won't be living in Philadelphia forever. Something about the east-coast mentality and the competitive attitude doesn't seem like it would work well with us in the long-term. I've been here almost 10 years, but it's becoming more clear as time wears on. Neither of us are from this area, which may be part of it. Provided we can sell our house, we plan to move out of the area within probably a year.

So my question: for those of you who have lived in multiple areas (or really, just for anyone), do you have any recommendations on where to move? I'd say employment (I'm a chemical engineer, she's a landscape architect), general life attitude (less wound up), and cost of living are all priorities, along with the obvious stuff like safety, cleanliness, etc.

Being from the midwest, I'm kind of biased toward that area, but really, we're both just trying to collect recommendations right now. Any and all input would be appreciated.

Katastrophe
May 15th, 2011, 04:05 PM
Texas is calling you, my friend! No snow, no state income tax, lower cost of living, good music environment (especially in the Austin area), and work for both of your fields. The people are generally friendly. It ain't the midwest, but the state has a lot to offer.

bcdon
May 15th, 2011, 04:42 PM
Kat is right about Texas but I'd also recommend the Pacific Northwest, especially Portland, Oregon unless you wanted to defect and come up here to Vancouver, B.C.

EDIT: I glanced over the cost of living requirement, well Vancouver won't meet that requirement. Oregon might but they do have an income tax but no sales tax (they do, however, have awesome beers!)

bcdon
May 15th, 2011, 04:43 PM