PDA

View Full Version : The proper way to restring a guitar..

Blaze
June 26th, 2011, 07:59 AM
Ive tried it , works realy good !!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zGLMy6DbpBc

Spudman
June 26th, 2011, 09:45 AM
I've been doing it exactly that way for several decades too. It does work. One exception: I usually leave about 1/4 to 1/2 inch of sting sticking out of the tuner when I cut it off. I've seen the string get sucked back into the tuner and come undone when I stretch it so now I leave some length so that it doesn't come back out of the tuner.

This is how to do it kids.

deeaa
June 26th, 2011, 11:26 AM
Oh yeah. I've done it pretty much just like that for ages as well. But I did also learn something new I'll try. First off, I don't do the kink thing, mainly because I've sometimes managed to break the string by accidentally making a kink there, and when it didn't exactly fit the tuner corner after all, it broke there.

2ndly I've never used any lube on any of my guitars. I never had any tuning issues either; can't really remember ever having to re-tune my guitar within a few hours like on a gig or anything, so I never bothered. But I might try that, maybe it'll help in the long run and give more life to strings. Can't remember breaking a string in a loooong while either, they get so gooey before that I need to change anyway. I'm afraid putting even a little lube there might make the gooeyness even worse.

Also, I don't put quite that much (3 fingers) of string there, for me it's like an inch maximum. And I always cut the string before I put it in; then I twist it around the post with my finger so that the 1st winding goes _over_ the string and the 2nd winding goes under the string, trapping it.

But with minor detail differences, which I'll try his way the next time to see if they work for me too...

Yes indeed that is the very best way to string a guitar.

player
August 13th, 2011, 09:33 PM
this is as good a place as any to put this tip RE: restringing a guitar