PDA

View Full Version : Writing your own basslines - going beyond the basics

progrmr
June 28th, 2011, 10:01 AM
Hope this is an OK spot for this - since it mostly applies to bass I put it here, but it's also a kind of "creativity/musical creation" genre. If it should be moved please move, thanks!

This is something I'm struggling with - here's the thing, and it's not just bass but music creation in general.

As an adult student I understand musical concepts pretty fast. I understand scales, major/minor triads, dom/aug/dim chords/arpeggios. I have all the knowledge I need to be able to write my own basslines and licks.

Problem is - everything I do sounds the same and it blows IMO lol! There's no hooks, no real connection in the finished product to a cool groove.

In piano lessons I've been working on composition, and struggling, as well. There seems to be soo little to do with the root, 3rd, 5th, 7th, octave - yet I know in my mind that the combinations are endless.

Part of me thinks that I just haven't played enough grooves to be able to translate what I hear in my head to the instrument, specific techniques to make notes sound different (slides, hammer-ons, syncopation, etc), learning from others but understanding WHY something works within music theory framework.

So the question becomes: How does one break through this barrier? Ignore the crap coming out of my amp at any given moment and keep trying to work on something until I find what works? What level of credence do other bass players give to learning grooves in various styles from other players? If you learn a groove/lick do you go beyond just being able to play it break it down to understand its musical components?

marnold
June 28th, 2011, 10:16 AM