PDA

View Full Version : An Original Dish

Glacies
September 9th, 2011, 09:54 AM
I started writing a book about food recently as cooking is my biggest hobby. In fact, I've been debating opening up a small venue catering business in the near future to fully realize my dream of working as a chef. For those that don't know, I'm a full time engineer, realistically I'm not going to culinary school but that isn't stopping me from getting as much experience and education as I can.

Anyway, midway through my book I realized that my book and many other cookbooks are kind of boring. It's really just the same A-D-E chord progression, they, and I, just change the rhythm around a little bit. Then I started thinking about what makes me unique, what my culinary style is that nobody else really has. The thing about me (cue the classical music) is that I love really fine food, really fine restaurants, going all out with cocktails all the way down to desert. A good bottle of wine... I usually get to know the chefs, the owners, I love it.

Then the other side of me is a bit different (cue the badboy metal riff). I love going to Buffalo Wild Wings or any wing joint and just mowing down some of the hottest wings they have while downing mass quantities of beer.

So, I thought my unique culinary style would bridge the gap a little bit. I've done some experiments and I've started making stylistic hotwings. Gourmet Wings if you want to call it that although I'd prolly shy away from the gourmet side. My first foray was a Chicken Parm wing. This was admittedly a little weak. I marinated the wings in tomato sauce, breaded and fried them and paired them with a spicey mozzerella dip. They did taste like chicken parm and they lit you up so I was happy, but I blew myself away with these last night:

Phad Thai Wings:

http://i71.photobucket.com/albums/i143/glacies_photos/DSCN1338.jpg