PDA

View Full Version : Peavey Mace

Spudman
November 27th, 2006, 02:55 PM
I just scored a deal of epic proportions. A 30 year old Peavey Mace head.

I stopped in to my local music store and as usual was checking out guitars. I was playing them without plugging them in when I came across one that I wanted to plug in. I looked behind me and discovered this Mace sitting on a 4x12 cabinet. So I plugged in.

Everything works but all the pots need cleaning which is no problem as I just got a Caig Industries Audio Survival Kit consisting of Deoxit, Pro Gold and Cailube MCL. This is the Holy Grail for electronics cleaning and works the best on guitars too. Also the knob stickers are peeling off the front of the knobs. No big deal. Steve Smith at Peavey is the go-to-guy for any Peavey needs large or small, new or old.

I've wanted one of these ever since I started playing in bands. Our original guitarist had one along with the extra tall Peavey ported 4x12 speaker cabinet. Oh my! It was heaven to listen to and to play. My pant legs would flap if I ever stood in front of it.

There are 6 -6L6 tubes for 160 watts, reverb and 2 channels. The channels can be configured either alone or you can run them in series or parallel. Very versatile. This didn't come with the combiner footswitch but they can easily be found.

If you want to know what it sounds like just listen to the first few original Lynyrd Skynyrd albums. These baby's sing!

If you can even find one they are fetching premium prices from most folks in the know. In my case...they didn't know. Don't even think of finding an affordable one on Ebay and they weigh a ton so shipping is usually really high.