PDA

View Full Version : Squire Tele Custom questions

zodiac71
November 27th, 2006, 03:46 PM
First off, hello from a new member. I have heard good things about this board from other boards so I thought I would ask this question here as it seemed better suited

I recently purchased a Squire Tele Custom (humbucker version) and I really love the feel of this guitar. I have been playing for around 5 years but have never really 'worked' on a guitar nor modified one. I can do intonation, neck adjustment, etc...the basics.

Anyway, I want this to be my first project guitar and here are the things I am planning on changing (some just because, others because I think it will help the rig)

First off, I would like to replace the bridge (at least the saddles) to a black one. Will this (http://store.guitarfetish.com/topmohabrfit1.html) bridge be a drop in replacement or would I be better off just ordering these (http://www.stewmac.com/shop/Bridges,_tailpieces/Electric_guitar,_non-trem_bridge_parts/Graph_Tech_Tele_Style_Saddles.html) and painting the existing plate black?

Tuners will be changed out to better ones that will also be black

New black string saddles

Black, domed metal knobs

Pots: for this model, do I need standard or long shaft? Also, is the 3-way switch a standard "LP" style or a right-angle job?

Pickups will be Highorder pu's just like in all my other guitars. Jeff is great and I will always order from him.

Hoping for some feedback and info that could make me feel a bit more comfortable prior to ordering said items.

I read a great review of a Custom mod on here, but some of these questions were not answered (probably because most people know all this stuff and I am trying to learn)

sunvalleylaw
November 27th, 2006, 04:15 PM
Hello Zodiac! I cannot answer your tele mod questions, but extend a warm welcome to the board.

warren0728
November 27th, 2006, 04:21 PM
welcome zodiac...i think you will like it here.