PDA

View Full Version : Should I switch my oreintation?

Telephantasm
September 11th, 2011, 01:12 PM
I've been playing guitar left handed for about three years and recently I've
become a tad irritated with the lack of selection instrument-wise. So I've been thinking about learning how to play right-handed and I was wondering if anybody else has done this before and if you've got any advice.
Cheers,
Don.

Katastrophe
September 11th, 2011, 01:21 PM
I'm a lefty that plays right handed, but I started out learning that way. If you do make the switch to playing righty, just take it slow, and one step at a time. It's most likely going to feel awkward since you're used to playing lefty.

On the upside, when you do learn how to fret with both hands, you can do this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p5VmWG-61l4&feature=related

FrankenFretter
September 11th, 2011, 01:32 PM
That seems to me that it would be a very hard transition. I do feel for you, though. The righties have a far, far better selection, and don't have to pay the "lefty tax" when they do buy a guitar. There are some companies that do a decent job of putting out a good number of lefty models, but it always cracks me up when one of the big guitar companies makes a sig model of a lefty player, but doesn't offer a lefty version. Even when they do, it's more than the righty version. Seems like it should be the other way around. If you can make the switch, then more power to you. Life as a righty is easier in the guitar world, for sure.

ZMAN
September 11th, 2011, 01:35 PM
I've been playing guitar left handed for about three years and recently I've
become a tad irritated with the lack of selection instrument-wise. So I've been thinking about learning how to play right-handed and I was wondering if anybody else has done this before and if you've got any advice.
Cheers,
Don.