PDA

View Full Version : Is tone over-rated?

Moshe
November 28th, 2006, 07:00 AM
Sometimes I think so.

Here is my arguement. Tone is simply the "color" of your music.

I was a painting contractor with my brother-in-law for 4 years. We would paint only interiors of upscale homes and generally charge 2-3 times what most painters would charge. My brother-in-law was such a good salesman and we were both good painters so we always had plenty of work. We would spend DAYS on prep work. And every cut-in paint line was perfectly straight. We used oil on the trim so it was smooth like glass. etc...

But every, every, every time the customer's neighbor or friend or relative came over to check things out they ALL said the same thing...."OOOH, I love that color." But Dave and I knew what they really liked was how well we prepped and painted.

I think a similar thing happens with music. People here a good performance and the think it was the TONE that they like, when it really was the playing.

I remember attending a jazz festival at Fredonia State University in New York where they had clinics. One instructer was demonstating proper jazz soloing technique and he was AWESOME. He then opened it up for questions...The first question. "What kind of mouthpiece are you using?". The instructor replied "That's a stupid question". and moved on. We were all like "Why??Why?? why is it a stupid question?? We need to know!" amongst ourselves. But really it was.

With all that being said, I still can't wait for my ALLEN ACCOMPLICE AMP TO GET HERE! so I'll have better tone.

Plank_Spanker
November 28th, 2006, 07:47 AM
The funny part of the entire "tone" discussion is that we, the players, are the only ones who obsess over it. The average listener could care less about it. I don't think I've ever left a concert hearing "Man, his mids were overly compressed and boxy. If only he had a Dumble".

marnold
November 28th, 2006, 08:31 AM