PDA

View Full Version : Stratocaster volume..

mrc2011
October 8th, 2011, 02:34 AM
Should it be, that when you adjust a std stratocasters volume say from 10 to 8, the highs and mids dramatically decrease leaving the tone all bassy and boomy?

progrmr
October 8th, 2011, 05:36 AM
probably depends on how you have the pickups adjusted. Most strat pickups have staggered pole pieces and the highs are much lower than the mids, then if you have the bass side adjusted higher than the treble side you could have the situation you describe.

But if the pickups are adjusted to be level, even if they have the staggered pole pieces, you should not have an all bassy tone left as you turn down the volume. Possible bad volume pot or a better one needs to be installed IMO. There will be many that can help you better though so wait for some more responses :)

Welcome to theFret!

Eric
October 8th, 2011, 07:16 AM
Hi mrc2011. I'm not an expert on this, but I think that's why people do the treble bleed mod on guitars sometimes -- so that they can reduce volume without cutting highs. Some here might know how to do it or have more info on it, but I'm going to go google that right now.

Spudman
October 8th, 2011, 07:44 AM
I've got plenty of Strats and you can expect some loss in sparkle or brightness when you roll down the volume on many Strats. I've done a few treble bleed mods on a few of mine and really like that. Some of mine also sound good with the loss of highs. For backing up vocalists this is nice because it lets the voice come out a little clearer and those high frequencies from the guitar aren't competing with the voice so it's easier to hear myself sing. Open the volume back up for a solo and then the presence and clarity come right back.

Duffy
October 8th, 2011, 09:59 AM