PDA

View Full Version : Fret Buzz

Glacies
October 26th, 2011, 06:46 AM
It has struck me.

Looks like my truss rod might need adjustment BUT I'd like to learn how to assess and do this the right way. It's an Epi LP Standard.

The strings at the 12th fret are pretty high - I can get measurements later today but if I look down the neck, it looks like it the neck needs to be straighter so therefore the truss rod would need to be tightened. However, It looks like if the bridge was dropped a bit, it would eliminate this problem too.

How do you know where to start? This guitar has never been professionally set up and I've never done this before but would very much like to learn. I called the local music shop and they said they would not show me how. I've seen a few How To's on the internet, but they didn't say anything about bridge vs truss rod and, well, frankly, I trust you guys a whole hell of a lot more.

I've been building a guitar lately, so I'm not afraid of nuts and bolts (I'm an engineer), but I am afraid of screwing up mah axe. Any direction here would be greatly appreciated.

Commodore 64
October 26th, 2011, 07:47 AM
Check your nut.
First of all, fret the guitar at fret 3. How much clearance is between the strings and fret 1? They should be just about touching.

If they are touching: Your nut slots are too low. You can shim the nut. Start with a little strip of your string envelope, put it in the slot, and coat it with superglue. Then put the nut back in. Repeat as necessary.
If they are more than .010 off:You could lower the nut or you could make the nut slots deeper. You need special files to do the slots, but all you need is sandpaper and a flat surface to do the whole nut. Do a little at a time.