PDA

View Full Version : My introduction

tjw1974
November 22nd, 2011, 11:27 AM
Hey everyone, I'm Tom.

I'm returning to guitar after about 12 years away from playing. In high school and college, music was my life. It's funny how things slip away.

Some years ago, I sold my beloved 1993 Jackson Dinky Reverse, which I am now learning was a huge mistake.

I'm in the process of putting together a new setup. I've already picked up a Takamine acoustic/electric and have put down a deposit on a used Ibanez Prestige S1220 and a new Fender Mustang III that I love.

Musically, I'm an old Dream Theater, Queensryche, Fates Warning, Racer X kind of guy.

When I'm not playing guitar, I'm a product designer at a software company and I race bicycles for a local Philly team.

-Tom

Algonquin
November 22nd, 2011, 11:38 AM
Welcome to The Fret Tom!

Cheers,
David

Commodore 64
November 22nd, 2011, 11:39 AM
Welcome to The Fret! I have a 1990 Soloist Pro that I got on CL in trade for a '68 Champ that I had about $250 into.

Jackson Dinky reverse headstock, on Philly CL:

http://philadelphia.craigslist.org/msg/2700993461.html

Another:
http://delaware.craigslist.org/msg/2700545264.html

tjw1974
November 22nd, 2011, 12:15 PM
Thanks, Commodore. I just feel like the new Jackson's aren't the same (though I keep thinking of picking up a Rhoads V some day).

Spudman
November 22nd, 2011, 04:24 PM
Welcome to thefret Tom.

I've retired from racing but still train with the guys and spend plenty of time solo riding all the high altitude single track around here. If you do a search here you can probably find my photos with the guys from Queensryche. So what machine are you riding this year?

tjw1974
November 22nd, 2011, 04:35 PM
Spudman, My road bike is a Giant TCR Advanced SL and my TT bike is a Specialized S-Works Transition.

Spudman
November 22nd, 2011, 05:37 PM
The TCR is a nippy little bike. A few guys here have them. I used to race an S Works mountain bike when they first came out. Cat 2,3,4?