PDA

View Full Version : Robert Renman, or Brent Mason?

Robert
December 22nd, 2011, 12:50 AM
Here's a cool story, or at least I thought so.

I just got this email from a girl in Belgium. She asked if I was interested in playing guitar on a track of hers, and if I could do home studio recordings like Brent Mason does. I read her message and I responded, yes I can do home studio recordings for you, no problem. She also asked for my bank account info right away, and my first thought and response was "do you use PayPal?". The next thing she sends is a message saying, "I will work with Mr Brent Mason and I received confirmation on his part to record the guitar parts for my first title.
Administrative details to pay money were the same as you..." - my mind is spinning....

So let me get this straight - I'm a guitar teacher in Canada (I have some talent, I am aware..., but...) who has very little track record as a studio musician, and she's trying to decide between me and Brent Freakin' Mason????

Should I laugh, cry or both???

Needless to say, Brent Mason is the number 1 studio guitarist in Nashville, and perhaps the hottest studio guitarist in the world today. The man is incredible as a player, and he's a machine at pumping out quality guitar works in almost any style - country, jazz, blues, roots, you name it.

I responded to her saying, "I would be happy to play on a track for you, and I am sure we can work out the payment details. I asked about PayPal since it is so common these days. Best of luck to you. "

I am not sure if this chick is some accomplished composer/artist from Belgium, or just some home studio song writer with money to burn. Either way - she got the right man for the job!

Brent Mason should be able to add some decent guitar work to her song - if not - I would be VERY afraid to even attempt to record something for her!