PDA

View Full Version : Actually playing . . . and not in my office?!?

marnold
March 19th, 2012, 08:33 PM
A woman in my congregation who has a beautiful singing voice asked if I'd be willing to play guitar to accompany her and a couple of other women from the congregation for a song for Good Friday. It's pretty straightforward--arpeggio cowboy chords more or less. I don't think the Jackson will be making an appearance. I'm trying to get my hands on an acoustic. She played it for me on the piano so I could get used to the meter. The music is hand-written and with a free meter. My only concern is that Holy Week has me VERY busy just to do my normal work, to say nothing of trying to nail the music. We'll see.

I've played bass in front of people on many occasions, but I'm pretty new to the guitar thing.

sunvalleylaw
March 19th, 2012, 11:01 PM
Sounds fun! Good luck!

Tig
March 19th, 2012, 11:13 PM
Go for it! You can handle it, and the slight distraction may help the stressful demands easier to deal with.

We regret what we didn't do yet should have, more than what we did do and shouldn't have.

Eric
March 20th, 2012, 08:27 AM
Cool! You know, I still get nervous for public performances like that, even though I've played in church probably hundreds of times by this point. Good luck with it.

BTW, what do you mean by 'free meter?' Lacking any sort of time signature? That sounds like it would be extremely difficult.

marnold
March 20th, 2012, 11:35 AM
BTW, what do you mean by 'free meter?' Lacking any sort of time signature? That sounds like it would be extremely difficult.