PDA

View Full Version : Setup instructions for a Les Paul

Glacies
June 27th, 2012, 12:06 PM
Okay guys, hopefully nobody is rolling their eyes here.

My Les Paul is just out of whack right now. I don't know if it's a summer thing, but my strings are buzzing on the frets all over the place and my action is pretty high on the 12th. I guess I had been playing my strat so much that when I got back to this i'm finding it unplayable.

Money is tight right now, and I am an engineer, I should be fully capable of doing this myself (famous last words), so I was hoping someone could post a video or give me some direction on how to do this.

Fundamentally I understand what and where every adjustment is on this thing, but what is confusing me is the order and the way one adjustment affects others.

For instance I'm afraid if I start at the neck first, the string tension will pull the neck forward again, etc.

Thanks for any and all help in advance.

Bookkeeper's Son
June 27th, 2012, 02:49 PM
Action (bridge height) adjustment is easier done with the strings de-tensioned.Truss rod adjustments should be done with the guitar tuned to pitch. As for intonation with a Tune-O-Matic, I find that adjusting a given saddle is easier with that particular string de-tensioned.

Generally, I do the adjustments in the above order, and I really don't think they affect each other in any discernable manner.

Katastrophe
June 27th, 2012, 09:49 PM
Here are a bunch of YouTube vids that can point you in the right direction... Interestingly, the Gibson website either doesn't have a tutorial on setups, or my search methods were ineffective.

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=how+to+set+up+a+les+paul+guit ar&oq=how+to+set+up+a+les&gs_l=youtube.1.1.0l3.5772.9275.0.12366.19.18.0.1.1 .1.215.2019.8j9j1.18.0...0.0.mZmPztOFZCs

deeaa
June 28th, 2012, 01:02 AM
Here's how you do the seasonal truss rod adjustment etc. (it usually happens at seasonal change time and because of humidity and temp changes.)