PDA

View Full Version : New to guitar, new to the board.

jasongins
December 19th, 2006, 03:22 PM
Hi all....

My name is Jason, age 33, from the suburbs of Philadelphia, PA. I am new to the guitar (started a month ago), and new to this board. I must thank Robert for his review and video demonstration of the Squier '51, which were "instrumental" in my chosing the '51 in sunburst for my first guitar (technically not my first - I had one when I was 13 but didn't get very far). When I first started looking, the '51 was $150. When it dropped to $99, my decision was made. I've been taking lessons online due to my long work hours, but I think I will be seeking the help of a teacher after the new year. I am not entirely sure what possessed me to start playing the guitar at 33 years of age, but at this point I am hooked regardless of the fact that I am just practicing chord switching and some scales.

Also, I must know... what does "GAS" mean/stand for?

-Jason

sunvalleylaw
December 19th, 2006, 03:39 PM
Hi all....

My name is Jason, age 33, from the suburbs of Philadelphia, PA. I am new to the guitar (started a month ago), and new to this board. I must thank Robert for his review and video demonstration of the Squier '51, which were "instrumental" in my chosing the '51 in sunburst for my first guitar (technically not my first - I had one when I was 13 but didn't get very far). When I first started looking, the '51 was $150. When it dropped to $99, my decision was made. I've been taking lessons online due to my long work hours, but I think I will be seeking the help of a teacher after the new year. I am not entirely sure what possessed me to start playing the guitar at 33 years of age, but at this point I am hooked regardless of the fact that I am just practicing chord switching and some scales.

Also, I must know... what does "GAS" mean/stand for?

-Jason