PDA

View Full Version : Beginner looking for advice on set-up (amp)

The King in Yellow
October 30th, 2012, 01:29 PM
Hello all,

I'm new to the forum and don't know much about electronics/guitar equipment.
I've been playing for ten years and am just now trying to get together a decent setup. So far I have:

Guitar: LTD Deluxe EC-1000 (with EMG 81 (B) / 60 (N) Active pickups)
Pedal: BOSS ME-70 Guitar Effects Processor

Now its time to choose an amp, and I was hoping to get tips from you all on which brand/what type of amp to consider.
I figure most of the sound quality is going to come from the guitar/pedal, so with the amp I'm mostly looking for volume, clean, versatile, with a bite to it.

Please share your thoughts. Thank you.

Zip
October 30th, 2012, 06:10 PM
Actually, a lot of sound quality will come from the amplifier. For "volume, clean, versatile, with a bite to it", try a HipKitty Panetone amph (link here ----> http://www.hipkittyproducts.com/pb/wp_904a01b5/wp_904a01b5.html ). A little pricey for some, but the tone is absolute woody.

Ch0jin
October 30th, 2012, 06:34 PM
I don't know anything about the amp Zip is suggesting, but I agree wholeheartedly on the amp and tone comment. Your amp will play a very significant part in your tone. I run two amps, a JTM45 and an early 90's Peavey tube combo in parallel and with the same guitar and pedal board, they certainly sound different when set to "Clean" (which is part of the reason I run both simultaneously)

Tig
October 31st, 2012, 03:05 AM
What is your price range?
I'm guessing the amp will mostly be used at home or jamming with friends, so lower wattage should be fine.