PDA

View Full Version : Anyone tried a Zoom G series or M-Audio Black Box?

jasongins
December 30th, 2006, 03:35 PM
Has anyone tried either the M-Audio Black Box or any of the newer Zoom G series (G1, G2)? I am a beginner with a Squier '51 thanks to Robert's review and I'm looking for a little tonal variety in my practicing.

SuperSwede
December 31st, 2006, 03:12 AM
Hello Jasongins,

I would stay away from the Black Box. It does have some useful rhythms, but as a modeler it doesnt deliver what you would get from VOX or Line6. I know that there are a couple of happy Zoom users here, but in my opinion you would be better off with either a POD2 (not very expensive) or a PODxt/Vox Tonelab (a little more cash, but worth every pesetas).
If you plan to only play at home, you could get away with a software amp modeler such as Native Instruments Guitar Combos which is a great beginner bundle that will give you 3 classic tube amps and a amp-like user interface. All these options will get you a better sound than the Black Box, and there is nothing as inspiring as playing with good sounds.
You can check out my thread on GC here:
http://www.thefret.net/showthread.php?p=16506#post16506

jasongins
December 31st, 2006, 08:19 AM
Thanks for your input. One of the things that attracts me to the Zoom G2, aside from positive customer reviews, is the rythym function. How useful/important is a rythm function in terms of practicing?

Robert
December 31st, 2006, 09:32 AM
I'll have to jump in here and say practicing with rhythm track is VERY IMPORTANT - it's the key to becoming a great player. Nothing is more important in my opinion than being able to play well in time with a song.

You can of course by some separate rhythm tool regardless, there are lots of drum machines out there that are good.

Hogfullofblues
December 31st, 2006, 10:12 AM
Hey Jason
2 cents worth from another newbie: