PDA

View Full Version : Burnt my left hand

Jimi75
June 29th, 2015, 06:22 AM
Hey folks,

wasn't too busy posting here, because I severely burnt my left hand. The high pressure cooking pot's ventile had a defect and so the cover "flew" away and the boiling water...you guess it...
It was horrible pain and I had to cool it for two entire days until the pain became bearable. The doctor said due to my quick reaction and not losing any time until I cooled the hand saved me from a tissue damage. Nonetheless my hand looks zombie. The skin peels off, but since Sunday I am able to play guitar again. Not being able to play was hell! However, count me in again here...

marnold
June 29th, 2015, 07:42 AM
Ouch, ouch, ouch! As a hand injury veteran myself, I feel your pain! Very glad to hear that your recovery time will be mercifully short. The way you describe the accident, it's surprising that that's the only part of you that was hurt.

Tig
June 29th, 2015, 09:38 AM
Wow, I'm glad it wasn't any worse. You did right by using cold water right away.

This is always a fear of mine, burning a hand or fingers. I have no Django talent to fall back on!

Jimi75
June 29th, 2015, 12:54 PM
Ouch, ouch, ouch! As a hand injury veteran myself, I feel your pain! Very glad to hear that your recovery time will be mercifully short. The way you describe the accident, it's surprising that that's the only part of you that was hurt.

I jumped back, my friend. Some drops on the belly and the rest of the water spread throughout the new kitchen...wanna guess how my wife reacted? ;-)

The part that feared me most was that the next day my hand was very dark. Doctor said that's because of the increased blood circulation. Now that the skin peels I can detect some slight damage on the epidermis underneath.

helliott
June 29th, 2015, 03:57 PM