PDA

View Full Version : Suppose I Should Introduce Myself

Josh
December 27th, 2005, 07:33 AM
Hi. I'm Josh. I'm fairly new to guitar, been messing around on friends axes for a few years but never really applied myself. The last year or so I've pretty much always had a guitar borrowed from someone in my room, and I've been playing with a great classical nylon string that belongs to my dad. I finally realized I was addicted and, being a responsible person, that I should seperate my addiction from my friends - I.E. get my own guitar and quit borrowing them and refusing to give them back. I put a Fat Strat on my list (didn't think I'd get it) and lo and behold that big rectangular gift box appeared under the tree Christmas morning. Figured owning a guitar I'm legit enough to at least introduce myself so here I am.

As you might have guessed, I'm on the younger end of the age scale here (18). I've been playing piano/keyboard since I was about three (I have a Roland synth that I love). I can't read music, I play by ear, self taught, and unlike guitar, I'm actually really good at it. I love to improvise and make stuff up, I have little interest in repeating something someone else came up with. I hope that I can work up to a level of competence on the guitar that I can really apply myself there as well.

I love playing guitar at any level, the fun for me is in making something sound good with whatever skill level I'm at, and improving on it. I'm not particularly motivated to bust my *** working on it, I'm just in it for the fun, and I'll let things progress at their own pace. I'd love to set up a little band with some like minded friends of mine, but I'm not in any hurry. It's about the music. God knows there's too many lame high school bands around here anyway.