PDA

View Full Version : Not so newb

ShortBuSX
January 10th, 2007, 12:42 PM
Hey yall...Ive been here bout a month now, I really enjoy this forum, its pretty broad with lots of different guitar info. I guess Im so used to and comfortable using forums that I usually neglect to take the time to introduce myself...Hi, my name is Neal.

When I was a kid I was all into the 80s metal, I wasnt listening for long till I had to have a guitar...saved up bout $100 and bought a Palmer with one humbucker, that thing was pretty sweet! But I wasnt satisfied and a year later my parents saw how well I was taken to it and they purchased me an Ibenez Roadstar Deluxe and a Peavey Bandit 65...it wasnt long before I missed that humbucker...I was never happy with the tone out of that amp or that Ibenez, maybe it was the basswood, I dunno. I played till I graduated and pretty much dropped it, only picking it up ocassionally here and there over the last 15 years or so....BUT when I did play regularly, I had learned several finger and picking exercises as well as arpegios and some scales...so when ever I did pick it up I went right back to those exersizes, so even though I havent been playing Ive still got good habits as well as dexterity and havve pretty much mastered alternate picking.

Well being single, for my birthday I decided to buy myself a Squier Standard Telecaster(walnut stain)...Id always wanted a Tele ever since I learned who Jimmy Page was!!! I always drooled at the site of the "brown bomber". Id scored a Crate solid state model for $50 from a buddy I worked with about 5 years ago and a RP250 Digitech...the Tele sounded cool, but I found Im diggin more clean tones now days as opposed to the crunch and sustain of my childhood metal days...now favoring more blues tones.