PDA

View Full Version : My Amp Is Smokin'

warren0728
February 1st, 2007, 01:21 PM
So as some of you know i retubed my classic 20 with jj's frome eurotubes and i really like the sound.

Once i changed them i noticed that when i started playing it it smoked a little and i figured it was just the new tubes...and that it would quit soon.

well it didn't although it is smoking less. I could not find the exact place the smoke was coming from (although i could smell it). I think know what is going on now and am wondering if i have goofed it up.

I read that when changes tubes it was a good idea to use some contact cleaner and clean the jacks the tubes go in before replacing. To do this it was recommended that you spray contact cleaner on the old tubes pins and insert them into the jacks several times. I did this and even spreayed some of the contact cleaner into the jacks.

Well I just looked at the can of contact cleaner i bought and it says "Contact Cleaner AND LUBRICANT" safe for all electronics.

So my guess is what i smell is the lubricant when it gets hot? Could this hurt the amp...so far it still sounds good and it seems the smell is getting better (like the lubricant is getting burned off?).

Should i go get a can of contact cleaner only (no lubricant) and start over?

ww

Tone2TheBone
February 1st, 2007, 02:55 PM
*bonk* never spray anything in your tube sockets!!! *bonk*

warren0728
February 1st, 2007, 03:05 PM
*bonk* never spray anything in your tube sockets!!! *bonk*
ok...so what do i do...i'm not sure that i actually sprayed it directly into the sockets but i did spray it on the old tube pins and then push them in and out of the sockets to clean them...is it ruined...should i go trade it in at guitar center for something else? :confused:

ww

Tone2TheBone
February 1st, 2007, 03:15 PM