PDA

View Full Version : Holding the guitar pick

Robert
February 2nd, 2007, 08:37 AM
People ask me often how to hold a pick. Here's how I do it:

http://www.dolphinstreet.com/guitar_video_lessons/lesson-46.php

I try to show how I keep the index finger horizontally across the pick.

tot_Ou_tard
February 2nd, 2007, 08:42 AM
Yup, that's how I hold'm too.

Jimi75
February 2nd, 2007, 08:49 AM
Hello Robert,

when I started playing I held the pick completely wrong. At that time I was wondering how all the other kids where able to play all this fast heavy metal stuff.

Only after one year, I dared to ask a friend and he showed me how to hold the pick - exactly the way you explain.

Anyway, what the theory and books suggest isn't valuable for every individual player....just thinking of how strange Santana holds the pick...but this contributes a lot to his style.

Good video though, it amazes me to see that you even think of covering such basic elements of the guitar playing! GREAT!!!

sunvalleylaw
February 2nd, 2007, 10:51 AM
People ask me often how to hold a pick. Here's how I do it:

http://www.dolphinstreet.com/guitar_video_lessons/lesson-46.php

I try to show how I keep the index finger horizontally across the pick.

That's really cool Robert. Fortunately, I had been taught to hold a pick that way. I have been thinking that in guitar, as in skiing, before movement can be accomplished effectively, position needs to be proper. In skiing, I coach that a stance must be effective before movement can be efficient. That has to be the same for guitar. I love that in your lessons, you show how you are fingering something, then show how to make the moves to play what you are teaching. Very helpful.

doomhauer
February 2nd, 2007, 11:01 AM
Yep, think I use a similar approach. Been having an ongoing debate with a friend from college who holds his pick with his middle finger and claims its the way forward!!?

Thing is hes a great player, he may actually be onto something!