PDA

View Full Version : Headphones vs. Studio Monitors

jasongins
February 3rd, 2007, 10:44 AM
I've been getting into recording a bit. I use an m-audio black box going USB into my Mac Mini with garageband. If I monitor through the computer speakers, there is just too much latency. The black box has a headphone jack as well as left & right outputs for monitors. It also has a mix knob that will allow me to vary the mix of the input signal and playback signal that will be directed to the monitors or headphones. My question is this: How is it playing with headphones on? I have a friend telling me that "you lose the feel," but being a beginner, I'm not sure I even have "the feel" yet in the first place. I can get headphones for less than monitors, but I'm not sure about wearing them. Opinions?

SuperSwede
February 3rd, 2007, 10:57 AM
I would take a good pair of headphones over monitors any day!
The built in core-audio drivers (usb audio) in mac os x delivers almost no latency (on my 2ghz imac at least). You can try to change your settings in the audio/midi app (found in applications/tools)

Justaguyin_nc
February 3rd, 2007, 02:08 PM
Hi Jason... happy to see you around here... I am also pretty new to this stuff.. a little over a year... I really enjoy listening to the tracks and playing thru headphones... it adds alot.. unfortunatley.. I have also noticed when I record with headphones on... than listen to the finished tracks without them... well, it loses something... like I record lower with the headphones on so it eventually filters down lower in the end product.. but I have learned or learning to compensate for that...

I use a pair of Sony MDR-7506 ($99.00) headphones I have had for a few years now.. and I can wear them all day long.. comfy IMHO... for all type listening...

this has all been my personal opinion... take it with a grain of salt...;)

Hogfullofblues
February 4th, 2007, 03:26 PM