PDA

View Full Version : Honda Accord vs. Nissan Altima

Tone2TheBone
February 8th, 2007, 09:55 AM
Any of you groovy cats or your groovy kittens drive any of these makes? Like 'em? Hate 'em? Tell me why.

jasongins
February 8th, 2007, 10:35 AM
Tone,

As preowned automobile dealer, I have a lot of experience with both. It has been the family business of over 30 years (I am second generation), and we do service as well as sales. We have handled more Altimas and Accords than I could even begin to count. I can tell you that both are very good cars, reliable, fuel efficient, and long lasting. Either would be a good choice. The Accord will be a bit more expensive than an Altima of the same model year. I like a 4 cylinder Accord better than a 6 cylinder in terms of reliabilty, but both are good. We haven't had a great many of the newer body style Altimas, but we have seen some insidious head gasket problems with them. My only real criticism of either car is that they don't have a lot of personality, but it seems that the cars with the most personality also come with the most grief.

Tone2TheBone
February 8th, 2007, 10:45 AM
jasongins - Your reply is very much appreciated. I did some consumer reports research and did find a few problems concerning the "engine" as you have mentioned (the head gaskets) on the Altimas. I'm sort of leaning toward the Accord. It's interesting to hear that you favor a 4 cyclinder Accord over the 6 for reliability. Could you please give me more info on that? You hit the nail on the head about cars with lots of personality having more issues. We have bought 3 Toyotas and have just recently had a problem with our latest one...the Camry. Things aren't supposed to happen to Camrys....but apparently they do and I can't wait around for parts or a recall concerning this particular issue so I'm gonna try something else. I will say however that my Tundra is awesome...no problems whatsoever. *shrugs* I guess you never know with cars.

sunvalleylaw