PDA

View Full Version : Practicing, playing and jamming

DaveO
February 14th, 2007, 05:08 PM
I am as self taught as I can be. Books, videos, watching other players. The question is how are you learning now? Are you a bedroom player, jamming with others, in a band? I don't currently have anyone to play with (except the wife, but that is a different kind of playing). Looking to hook up with local players near the same skill level. I feel a little stagnant in my playing right now and need someone to kick start me. Am I the only one who is caught on what I call the "noodle go round". Same riffs and lines over and over and over and over. I did take lessons briefly about 18 months ago but I didn't know how to get what I needed from the teacher and he couldn't pull it out of me. I am a self taught rambler too. Sorry.
Dave

sunvalleylaw
February 14th, 2007, 06:04 PM
I can relate. My practice time is often after the kids are in bed, or just a couple minutes here or there. It is easy to play the same warm up song I ususally do, work on pieces of things here or there, and just get stuck on noodle go round as you say. I am trying to play songs that I am learning or practicing all the way through more, but sometimes it just doesn't come trying to do it alone. I hope to score a looper here soon, so I can "play with my self" more. (Don't worry Sister Mary Francis, I don't mean that way!) And have been trying to get a local friend or two to commit to playing times. However, I can't complain about my progress since starting playing regularly only in May. Having SpudSteve come over sure helped with some motivation and new ideas too. And of course, I always get lots out of my friends right here. Robert's vibrato lesson is calling my name in the next few days for sure!

t_ross33
February 14th, 2007, 06:06 PM