PDA

View Full Version : Greetings from another Guitar Geek!

guitartist
March 8th, 2007, 10:28 AM
Howdy all,
I've been a lurker here for a month or so, and really enjoy this forum - lots of nice and knowledgeable folks here. This summer will mark my 40th year of playing guitar (started when I was 6). Although I've played for a long time, I've never been what you'd call a real serious player...but I've stuck with it for so long that I feel like I've finally reached a level of competence which eluded me for the first couple of decades of my playing! I'm no pro, but I play almost every day, and the older I get the more I love it.
Back in my gigging days, I was mainly a sax player, although guitar's really my main instrument (I also play bass and a little drums and keyboard). My days of playing in bands and even loud jamming with others seems to be behind me for the most part though, so I'm mostly a "low volume" guy these days - especially since I moved from a house which I shared with a bunch of crazy musicians (& wannabees) to an apartment in a very quiet complex. The first five years of my living where I am now I didn't even play electric, except through headphones. I eventually realized I could get away with cranking up an amp occasionally without the cops coming (which seemed to be a weekly occurence at the house where I used to live!) Lately I've gotten back into playing electrics mostly, although I try to keep it at a low volume. I've been on a quest for righteous tone at a low volume, and have been checking out a lot of different small amps in my quest (I almost always play through two amps at a time, love the different tonal textures you can get through different amp combinations)