PDA

View Full Version : Guitar teachers - are you happy with yours?

Robert
March 16th, 2007, 01:35 PM
Looking for content lesson takers...

If you are content with your teacher, can you describe what you appreciate the most?

What makes him/her a great guitar teacher?

What are some bad experiences you've had, where you didn't learn much from the teacher?

scorona
March 16th, 2007, 02:46 PM
Great topic for discussion Robert.

If you are content with your teacher, can you describe what you appreciate the most?

Having the right balance and focus on music theory, technique, playing and advice on practice regimen.

Align homework/practice regimen with goals of student. Ensure focus is on goals of the student rather than on what the instructor enjoys teaching.

What are some bad experiences you've had, where you didn't learn much from the teacher?

One of my instructors was focused way too much on theory and reading music, which I think is important, but I was a beginner at the time and suffering from not having the mechanics down, so I needed much more instruction on "how" to play. This led to frustrating practice regimens. I still can't read sheet music (tab only), but I found another instructor that has similar musical tastes that can balance technique and theory instruction. Occasionally, we just have fun and spend the lesson time taking turns playing leads over the others chord progression. I've learned so much that way.

I've recently taken a haitus from lessons because my wife and I are expecting our first child very soon, but hope to get back to it in a couple of months.

warren0728
March 16th, 2007, 02:54 PM
my teacher sucks....he can barely find the pentatonic scale....has no music theory knowledge at all....and he dresses funny!! :eek:

oh yea....my teacher is ME!! I really am interested in this thread though because i have thought about taking lessons from time to time...

ww

Robert
March 16th, 2007, 03:00 PM