PDA

View Full Version : New member, glad that I found this site!

jpfeifer
January 9th, 2006, 07:04 PM
Hi Everyone,

My name is Jim. I found this site after discovering Robert's awesome playing on his online demo of the Vox AD50 amp.

I have been playing guitar for many years now and I still enjoy learning new things from other players. I play with a few different bands in the city that I live in and I also like to dabble in home recording and writing tunes.

My favorite types of music are Jazz, Blues, ... or just about anything else that is done well. My favorite musicians are the Beatles, Pat Metheny, George Benson, Eric Johnson, BB King, Roben Ford, ...

I own the following guitars:
Hamer Newport
Fender Eric Clapton Strat
Ibanez Artcore Jazz box
Martin J40-M
Taylor 514CE

I own the following amps
Vox AD120VTX
Roland Cube 60

I also have been teaching guitar on the weekends for about 2 years now and have been enjoying that quite a bit.

I'm looking forward to learning things with all of you and sharing any info that might help other players.

Thanks, -- Jim

Spudman
January 9th, 2006, 08:21 PM
Welcome to the forum Jim. Glad you found us.

If you've been teaching for a while maybe you could start a thread highlighting common mistakes or trouble spots for new guitar players? Or something like that if you feel comfortable doing so. I'll bet we can all still learn something.

warren0728
January 9th, 2006, 08:33 PM
welcome Jim....this is a great forum

glad you found us....better bookmark this page because it is a keeper!

ww

Nelskie
January 9th, 2006, 10:14 PM
Jim - Glad to have you aboard! As both a teacher and gigging player, I am positive that you'll have much to share with our fellow forum members. I also noticed that you'd mentioned Robben Ford as one of your favorite players - he's one of mine too! He has such fantastic tone and technique. Great singer, too!!

Robert
January 9th, 2006, 11:02 PM