PDA

View Full Version : The Beginner's Thread

tot_Ou_tard
June 17th, 2007, 09:39 AM
I thought I'd start a thread that discusses resources and ideas to help those new to playing guitars or basses get started or keep going.

Consider it a friendly lounge to ask questions & hang out.

I know that The Fret is in general very friendly to noobs, but I thought that it might be helpful to focus a little on the issues that we beginners have.

I've been playing for a 1 & 1/2 years & am completely self taught. Lately I've noticed that I haven't adequately focused on what the fingers that aren't fretting are doing.

In an attempt to be helpful & get out of the way of the fretting fingers they seemed to behave as if the fretboard was poison: lifting way up away from the fretboard. This has gotten in the way of my speed & fluidity.

I have slowed down and really focused on keeping all fingers relaxed & poised near the fretboard. It was very hard at first as if my brain could only control a few fingers at a time. This feeling like the brain isn't entirely wired up to the fingers is a very familiar feeling for those new to the guitar & for good reason. The brain only dedicates computational resoures to those tasks it deems important & up until I picked up a guitar my brain could go happily on its way doing other things.

I do notice that the next day after really trying to make my fingers behave *precisely* like I want them they are a little more cooperative. The feeling like this'll never work moves slowly into I can kind'a do it to this isn't so hard to wow why was I doing it the hard way this is much easier.

I found the following book

http://www.guitarprinciples.com/Book/further1.htm