PDA

View Full Version : When I met N. Redding of the J.Hendrix Exp.

Jimi75
June 22nd, 2007, 03:42 AM
Hey Folks,

Don't know but somehow I am walking down memory lane this month and I remembered how I met Noel Redding, the former bassist of the Jimi Hendrix Experience. We met twice. The first time was on the Frankfurt Tradefair, where Fender presented the Noel Redding Jazz Bass made in Japan. First of all this instrument was a super bass, but no one was really interrested in this bass - unfortunately.
My boss put me in charge for the "Noel" Project, 'cause he knew I was a huge Jimi fan. Before we could convince Noel to fly out, we had to overcome quite a bunch of obstacles (schedules, personal preferences, hotel room, blablabla). Noel was a quiet and skeptical character when he didn't know you, let us say he was challenging and very direct. First of all, when he arrived at the airport the first thing he said was:"I'm not going to play the bass, I will play guitar. I am a guitarist!"
That was a problem! Can you imagine thousands of guests at the tradefair coming to see the bassplayer of the JHE and he plays only guitar? I explained to him that this could be a little bit difficult and that people come to see him play the bass...so on and so on. His only answer was: "Then they have to see me play the guitar."
We decided to not discuss with him about that and let him play the guitar. He played a few wonderful shows at the booth. Months before coming to Germany he lost his wife in a car accident. He seemed a little unoriented, as if he was there and at the same time some place far away. He had the room just beside my room and he came to knock at my door approx. every 15 minutes - that was when he needed beer or snacks. Please do not understand me wrong, after one or two days, when we were a little more familiar he was absolutely nice. A heart on two legs, very warm character, at times also a bit conservative, also if you can not imagine this.