PDA

View Full Version : Nice Site!

r_a_smith3530
February 1st, 2006, 10:36 AM
Well, I've already made a couple of posts, but I suppose that I should give you all a little introduction.

I'm an old fart. I'm from Chicago and currently live in the suburbs outside the city. Originally an automotive dealership line mechanic by trade, I eventually got into the management end of that business. I've had a couple businesses, repairing and building custom bikes and computer repair. Drawn to a Fortune 100 company, I eventually rose to support a regional data center before being laid off in the technology crunch. I'm temporarily back in the auto industry while I look for my next real day job.

Growing up in a family that built and raced sports cars in the 1950's, I took to tinkering early on, and today, among other things, my guitar/bass collection reflects that. My favorites are things just a little bit different than the next guy's.

I got into guitars later in life, although the interest had been there for years. For a while it was an on again, off again sort of thing. Today, I try hard to make time for music and it shows in my playing ability. I'm still a long ways off from being anywhere near great, but I'm steadily getting better!

My first playing guitar was a Yamaha classical. I didn't really like the sound of it, so it was soon replaced by a Seagull S6 spruce top dreadnaught. Growing up in the Sixties, it was all about rock music, and so an electric wasn't too far behind. Fortune smiled down upon me, for my first electric was a Gibson Les Paul Custom, in Wineberry. Every silver lining has a cloud however, for that LP was an early Norlin era instrument. It weighed a ton and never stayed in tune all that well. I began to search for a replacement.