PDA

View Full Version : Geetings and Salutations

navvid
July 12th, 2007, 02:59 PM
Hello all
My name is navvid (aka nick), I study astrophysics at SF State U, and guitars are better than women. If you are reading this and you are a beutiful red head, I retract my statement. But I digress...

First amongst my beloved ladies is my 87 MIJ 3 tone strat. I also have an 80's Ibanez RG (also nippon) and a korean fender acoustic. My amp is a Marshall TSL100 and a 1960A cab.

I got on this forum looking for help solid modeling a Strat for my first lutherie project. I am using a friends MIJ lefty strat to make a template so I can build a lefty and string it righty. Obviously, I am a Hendrix fan. Greatest guitarist of all time, followed very closely and sometimes overtaken by SRV.

I am an amature machinist, I modify and upgrade electronics and I believe that one of the biggest problems with the world today is there are not enough skilled craftsman.

I am glad to be here.

sunvalleylaw
July 12th, 2007, 03:16 PM
Welcome! I will enjoy hearing about and hopefully seeing pics of your project(s). You should be able to find a lot of good practical help here.

duhvoodooman
July 12th, 2007, 03:36 PM
Welcome, Nick! I think you are our first astrophysicist here at TheFret! So does that make your favorite Hendrix tune Third Stone from the Sun? ;) :D

Sorry, I can't help myself sometimes....

warren0728
July 12th, 2007, 03:43 PM
welcome Nick....this is a great forum....i think you will like it here....

ww

note: this welcome copyrighted 2007...no unauthorized use of this welcome will be tolerated

Spudman
July 12th, 2007, 04:32 PM
Hey Nick
Welcome aboard.

Robert
July 12th, 2007, 05:16 PM
Welcome Nick, good to have you here!

Tim
July 12th, 2007, 05:16 PM
Hi Nick,

Welcome to the Fret Net. I remember the solder articles that most likely got you here. We discuss many topics here at the Fret Net. Some are guitar related, others are not. Hence the Open Mic category.

ted s