PDA

View Full Version : Best recorded guitar tone

Robert
July 18th, 2007, 10:32 AM
Since we have a "worst recorded guitar tone" thread, why not do the opposite?

I think Scott Henderson's album Dog Party has some really tasty strat tone. He used a Fender 50s re-issue strat with Lindy Fralin pickups through a Matchless amp on that one (if I remember correctly).

I'd have to mention anything by Bill Frisell also. He's got such a lovely, mellow tone, quite irresistible.

And, again, I think Jimi Hendrix had a fantastic tone on "Machine Gun". Still gives me "duck skin" (goose bumps) every time I listen to it.

Tone2TheBone
July 18th, 2007, 10:44 AM
I loved Nuno Bettencourt's tone on III Sides To Every Story. He's got great ears for real tone.

sunvalleylaw
July 18th, 2007, 10:49 AM
I am still too newbie to really say. I am just learning about tone. But I will throw one out there I really like. Even though he is young, and his earlier stuff is pretty young and pop sounding, I really like the tone John Mayer is getting lately, esp, when he heats up the tone a little like in the Trio recordings. To me it is very expressive. Best of all? I am probably unqualified to say. I do really like it though.

Lev
July 18th, 2007, 11:10 AM
John Sykes on Whitesnake's 1987 record had a great rock tone. Very different but equally awesome tone - Mark Knopfler - Sultans of Swing. I also love Bad Horsie by Steve Vai for ballsy tone.

marnold
July 18th, 2007, 11:14 AM
I like George Lynch's tone on Dokken's "Tooth and Nail" and "Back for the Attack" although there are distinct differences between the two. "Tooth and Nail" is far more raw.

I know it's cliche, but I like SRV's blues tone. For a particular reference, I'd probably pick his cover of "Little Wing."

marnold
July 18th, 2007, 11:18 AM
John Sykes on Whitesnake's 1987 record had a great rock tone.