PDA

View Full Version : Agile 2800 Dlx, and all other guitars from the mail

MagicBaller21
February 22nd, 2006, 09:37 PM
Well, I ordered an Agile 2800 dlx (as you might've read on a bunch of other posts) and I was wondering what things I should check out, since it's a guitar that came through the mail. Rondomusic has a good return policy, but I want to make sure that I've checked it out thoroughly before the return policy expires. Ill be sure to take plenty of pictures once it arrives :D . Please share any experiences with guitars that have come through the mail, and how you take them through tests to make sure that everything is working fine on them! thanks for any tips, since this is my first time ordering a guitar online.

Spudman
February 22nd, 2006, 10:49 PM
Magic

Congratulations on the guitar. I think you will like it. My Agile is a keeper.As for what to look for...mine didn't need anything except that I set the action, intonation, neck relief and changed to the guage string that I use. That was it, oh, I did tighten the screws on the end of the tuning keys just a tad. I think yours will come with the really nice Grover tuners. Otherwise mine was and still is a very fine guitar.

However, check and make sure the relief on the neck is to your liking and that there are no spots either playing or bending the higher strings that fret out. Look from fret 10 to fret 15. This is typically where I have seen the most problems with bowed necks or bad fret jobs. Play a note on the high E string, bend up a 3rd or 5th if you can toward your face (across the fretboard). If it frets out and it happens at one or two frets up or down from that spot then you may want to have a pro look at it. It most likely will be a high fret and can easilly be fixed. Otherwise they will tell you of any problem that they can see.