PDA

View Full Version : Removing the tone choking finish

navvid
September 28th, 2007, 09:38 PM
For reasons I'll not get into, my beloved first lady suffered a set of severe gashes in the finish along her lower tail edge. I have sanded to the primer in the damaged areas (though the worst gash actually is well into the wood) and a little around them, but this got me to thinking that since shes no longer cherry, maybe I could try sanding the finish off of the back and sides. I have long wanted to do this, as it is pretty well accepted by those in the know that the thick clear coats deaden the tone of a guitar. As a physicist, I have always thought this made sense since effectively the finish is a layer of hard plastic which should dampen the whole body, and so have accepted it to be true. Also I know a guy with a Strat he sanded raw and stained, and its a tone monster. But that didn't mean I was ready to sand the protective layer off my cherry #1. Now it seems to me that it's a compromise of protection against mainly moisture and impact vs. improvement in tone. Any thoughts guys? has anyone done this? As always, any input is appreciated.

nrn

navvid
September 30th, 2007, 01:45 PM
anybody?

Katastrophe
September 30th, 2007, 02:10 PM
Actually, the official Fender line is that the polyester finishes used on most of their guitars doesn't affect the tone that a guitar has.

Is that true? I have no idea, after all, it has to do with the guitars Fender markets. All of my guitars are bolt necked, and have fairly hard urethane finishes. I've never had a tone problem with any of them that wasn't mechanical in nature (pickup going microphonic, jack or switch breaking).

I think, ultimately, it comes down to what sounds good to your ear. I think, with a physics background, that a scientific test between a bare wood (unfinished) Strat, one with a nitro finish and one with a polyester finish would be kind of cool, don't you think?

Plank_Spanker
September 30th, 2007, 06:10 PM