PDA

View Full Version : New member from the great state of Texas, checkin' in

YerDugliness
October 3rd, 2007, 07:45 PM
Good day to all y'all!! This forum was recommended to me by a good friend from another forum, so I thought I'd drop by and see what's up??

By way of introduction, I've been playing guitar since the early 1970's, when my first wife gave me a classical guitar. I played classical guitars only from that time until I bought a Washburn acoustic steel string guitar 3 years ago. It was bought to use as barter for some help I needed with a home improvement project, but the guy left the state before the project could be started so I kept the guitar and in spite of my past negative experiences with steel string guitars I started playing it. Well, to my surprise, I loved the axe, and since then I've accumilated yet another Washburn acoustic steel string guitar, an Epiphone Dot hollow body electric, and will within the week take delivery of an Epiphone Les Paul electric and an Epiphone AJ-10 (to be used as a campfire guitar, a welcome addition that will eliminate the need for me to take my good guitars camping with me).

Having said all that, I don't really believe I have a musical bone in my body, but there is certainly music in my soul. Those pieces I can play, I do play well, but that only means I'm persistent, not good. I've never had a single music lesson, in fact I was kicked out of the only music class I ever got into (a funny story for a different time), and so I'm totally self taught. I've played by myself, usually in a darkened room with my eyes closed, for all the time I've played, except for 3 or 4 times I've played with some other friends. Never have I performed in public, but a newly acquired acquaintence and I are planning on working up some pieces so we can go get involved in open mic nights in Houston, TX, near where I live.