PDA

View Full Version : Hello & Good Nite from Southern California...

wingsdad
October 3rd, 2007, 10:29 PM
Howdy, good people,
Checking in to introduce myself, I'm yet another like several other newbies tipped off to this friendly group of like-minded souls by a good friend from the Washburn forum.

I've been browsing through many of the discussions on various topics for the past few days, tempted to pipe up, but figured I'd start with this as a first post.

As the title of my thread hints, from out here on the Left Coast, I figure to be constantly late to the party, and often posting to a sleeping crowd. But, hey, I did that for a living for a while, so...my apologies in advance if my responses are somewhat out-of-sync...like the state I've lived in since 1990.

Born & raised in the suburbs of NYC, I lived & worked in the Northeastern US until retiring from any semblance of a musician's fading 'career', pulling up stakes with my family to settle in the High Desert of Southern California, about 100 miles inland from LA, 200 miles south of Las Vegas, along the Mother Road, US Route 66.

I'll not put up a 'Gear List' in my sig just yet. I'll just sum things up by letting y'all know I've played guitar since an older cousin who played lefty and upside down (no...his name wasn't Jimi) infected me with Chet Atkins, Chuck Berry,The Ventures and other surf guitar bands in 1961. I'm a product of the Great Garage Band Era of the 60's.

Influences are many, but heaviest are r&b, Motown (the Funk Brothers' 'Oreo Cookie' guitar troika & bassist James Jamerson), Stax/Volt Memphis (Steve Cropper), Beatles (Lennon & Harrison, McCartney on bass), Pete Townsend, Eric Clapton. Nothing fancy, nothing flashy. In the pocket.