PDA

View Full Version : What's Your Action

just strum
October 11th, 2007, 05:41 PM
Since I'm relatively new to the guitar and even more so to electric I was curious as to what you prefer the action to be at the 12th fret on your electric guitars? And do you have the action set different on the different guitars that you have to accommodate the style you tend to play?

Any other tips you can offer for setting up action? Any good websites geared toward electric guitar set-up?

Mark
October 11th, 2007, 05:51 PM
Dan Erlewine's Guitar players repair handbook is a must for anyone looking to work on their guitars. I set my action to 4/64th's.

TS808
October 11th, 2007, 07:13 PM
Dan Erlewine's Guitar players repair handbook is a must for anyone looking to work on their guitars. I set my action to 4/64th's.

One of the best books out there...it is a must have for any guitar player. I also set mine to 2/32"

t_ross33
October 11th, 2007, 09:11 PM
wouldn't that be 1/16"? What's that in millimetres ? :rolleyes:

My action is pretty high, but I'm pretty ham-fisted, being a bass and acoustic player most of my life and fairly new to 'lectric. Learning to like a lower action , but I set it pretty much by eye and by feel. Depends on my mood :messedup:

One of these days I'm gonna learn how to set this thing up properly.

Trev

Tim
October 12th, 2007, 06:09 AM
One of the best books out there...it is a must have for any guitar player. I also set mine to 2/32"

Holy Fret Buzz Batman! If I had my action that low on my acoustic I would never be able to play it. I have my relief set at .012' and my action is 6/64 on bass and 5/64 on high E. I do get some buzz at this setting. Anything less would make the guitar unplayable.

Robert
October 12th, 2007, 07:31 AM
I set it by feel, I don't measure. I use my eyes first, and then play and adjust until I am happy, which means as low as it gets without buzzing.

Bloozcat
October 12th, 2007, 09:03 AM