PDA

View Full Version : In the days of my youth....

duhvoodooman
March 1st, 2006, 03:13 PM
....this TRUE STORY happened to me. Nothing of earth-shaking import, but I just thought I'd pass it along to those with an interest in Gibsons:

Back on Christmas Day 1967, I got a call from the kid who lived across the street, telling me he'd gotten a **GASP** electric guitar for a Christmas gift! At the time, I had been playing for a couple of years, had a relatively cheap Epiphone flattop, and had never played an electric instrument. Naturally, I turned several picturesque shades of green with envy, and rushed over to see the object of wonder.

What he had received was a cheap Kay electric--in retrospect, a truly pitiful excuse for a guitar, but it seemed pretty cool at the time. He had only started to play guitar a couple of months prior, so he was capable only of a few rudimentary chords and simple riffs. As I recall, he banged away on "Louie Louie" for a few minutes, as I drooled for a chance to try his new ax. Finally, he let me play it for a couple minutes, but quickly took it back. I sat there watching him play (excruciatingly badly!) for a few minutes more. When I asked for another shot at it, he told me that, hey, it was HIS new guitar and he wanted to keep playing it, but that I could use his dad's old guitar.